r The Largest Political Parties in Nigeria - Ovoko Blog

The Largest Political Parties in Nigeria

by ovoko

Posted on November 6, 2016 at 12:20 pm

The political landscape in the largest black nation is the world has been one marred with a lot of political intrigues. Political parties keep doing what they know how to do best in order to attain a prime position in the scheme of things. Here are the largest political parties in Nigeria.

  1. Labour Party (LP)

    It is on the platform of the Labour party that the likes of Olusegun Mimiko of Ondo state and Adams Oshiomole of Ondo state got their mandate before they moved to other stronger parties. Labour party has been able to provide an alternative to the big two political parties.

  2. All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA)

    The All Progressive Grand Alliance is a political party formed in the eastern part of Nigeria and had the late Chukwuemeka Odimegwu Ojukwu as its founder hence the popularity of the party in that region. Despite the party’s seeming downward surge, it still has played an important role in the emergence of a number of state governors, senators as well as house of reps members. The state was responsible for producing the likes of Peter Obi and Willie Obiano of Anambra state. Rochas Okorocha also got his first mandate on the platform of this party.

  3. People’s Democratic Party (PDP)

    PDP dropped one step down to become the second biggest political party in Nigeria after losing the 2015 presidential election to the All Progressive Congress (APC). But it is still big enough to act as a formidable opposition to the ruling parting. PDP still has about 12 states in its’ control as well as the deputy senate president and a handful of senators and honorable members.

  4. All Progressive Congress (APC)

    APC became the largest political party in Nigeria by toppling the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) after an emphatic win at the national level at the 2015 presidential election which brought in President Muhammadu Buhari. Apart from the presidency, APC has 22 states in its coffers as well as the president of the senate and the speaker of the house of reps. The leader of the party is Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *